Quick hits for 7/3

by

Buffy the Vampire Slayer #16

I really wish I hadn’t read this interview with Joss Whedon before reading this issue, because what happens to Dawn would’ve had me rolling on the floor had I not expected it (and that picture of Joss might be one of the worst picture taken of any human being, ever).  In any case, this book suffers from first chapter syndrome where what you really want to see doesn’t even begin until the last two pages.  Still, it’s written by Whedon himself and I’ve got a soft/blind spot when it comes to the man so of course I enjoyed every page of it.  Karl Moline’s art is a step up from what we normally see in this book (not that regular artist Georges Jeanty is bad, of course) as his characters are more expressive and his setting feel a bit more lush.  So far I’ve loved every issue of this title and I’m not apologizing for it, Whedon-haters.

Angel: After the Fall #10

Even though the artist hasn’t changed, the art itself is much better this time around.  Nick Runge seems to be settling into Angel’s world in a way that Franco Urru never did, and thank God for that.  Everything else is still a bit of a mess, though.  There’s a lot going on in this issue and that crowds out what should’ve been a huge, game-changing revelation.  We readers knew about Angel’s secret all along, of course, but we only get a few pages of his gang’s reaction to the news.  Thinking in TV terms, this scene would’ve lasted at least 10 minutes (with the reveal coming right before a commercial break), but here the emotional resonance is stripped away because it’s all over so fast.  I can’t believe I’m complaining about too much happening in a single issue, but since I still don’t have a great handle on what happened in issue 9 I feel like the whole series is moving too fast after marking time for too long.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

