Quick hits for 6/27

by

Superman #677

I’ll cop to some increased expectations with this issue since it’s the first by new writer James Robinson.  While not a big name amongst fans, he’s produced some good, solid, sometimes great work.  I’m not sure if those expectations played a role, but I was let down by this issue.  I like seeing Superman and Green Lantern play fetch in space with Krypto the super dog as much as the next guy, but page after page of setting up Metropolis’ Science Crime Unit isn’t something I really needed.  When Atlas, this story’s villain, shows up, I didn’t care all that much, especially when his motivation for wanting to pummel Superman can be boiled down to “People like you better than they like me.”  Weak sauce, Mr. Robinson.  Renato Guedes is perfectly suited to this title, even if he does err on the sketchy side of line work.

New and Mighty Avengers

Two more stories about how the Skrulls replaced two of the Marvel U’s heroes, and I think I’ve had my fill of that crap.  Sure, it’s neat to see how they pulled it off and writer Brian Michael Bendis weaves Hank Pym and Jessica Drew into pre-existing storylines (like House of M) in a neat way, but I’ve almost stopped caring.  I’m actually more interested in how the Skrulls are able to hide themselves amongst other heroes and emulate the powers of the people they kidnap.  Somehow, throwing a pain-causing washcloth over someone’s face doesn’t seem like it’d do the trick.  I am a big fan of artists John Romita, Jr. and Jimmy Cheung and these issues did nothing to alter that.  I just wish they had something better to draw.  I also wish I hadn’t spent $6 on these inconsequential books.

Thunderbolts #121

My favorite Marvel title loses it’s creative team with this issue, so I’m more than a little bummed.  The one-liners flow freely and are often good for at least a smile.  After a big dustup pits team members against each other, the status quo is maintained in a way that felt a little cheap simply because it came out of nowhere.  Not the resolution I wanted or expected, but these are company owned characters so I’m not sure how much leeway Warren Ellis had.  I will say this about the man, he knows how to write a suitable crazy Norman Osborn.  Mike Deodato leans way too heavily on the photo-referencing crutch, as Robbie Baldwin transforms in this issue from regular looking guy to Edward Norton doppelganger.  In all, a somewhat underperforming ending to what was a satisfying, at times thrilling, yearlong run.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

